Topic: Structural remedies

EU blocks Korean shipbuilding deal

The European Commission has blocked Hyundai Heavy Industries’ $2 billion acquisition of Daewoo Shipbuilding & Marine Engineering after the companies failed to offer formal remedies to address its concerns, bringing an end to a Phase II probe that started in 2019.

13 January 2022

Veolia/Suez clears Australian hurdle but hits UK roadblock

The UK’s antitrust authority has opened an in-depth investigation into Veolia’s €13 billion acquisition of Suez, the same day as the Australian competition watchdog approved the deal subject to structural remedies.

21 December 2021

CMA demands commitments in telecoms infrastructure deal

Cellnex has promised to offer remedies to the UK’s Competition and Markets Authority after its in-depth probe found that the company’s purchase of towers from CK Hutchison would strengthen a duopoly in the telecoms infrastructure sector.

17 December 2021

EU clears Veolia/Suez with significant carve-outs

Waste and water management giants Veolia and Suez have bagged the European Commission’s conditional approval for their €13 billion tie-up after promising to spin off a host of assets to create a new French rival.

14 December 2021

Germany remedies waste disposal JV in unusual Phase I clearance

Germany’s antitrust enforcer has seemingly approved remedies in Phase I for the first time, conditionally clearing a hazardous waste disposal joint venture nearly two months after the European Commission rejected a more limited set of remedies while reviewing the same deal.

02 December 2021

UK calls for remedies in Cargotec/Konecranes review

The $5 billion merger of Cargotec and Konecranes is likely to harm competition in seven separate markets in the container handling sector, the UK’s competition watchdog has concluded.

26 November 2021

Banking deal blocked in Norway

The Norwegian Competition Authority has intervened to stop DNB’s €1 billion acquisition of rival Sbanken, after the buyer twice proposed what the agency said were inadequate remedies.

16 November 2021

Financial data deal highlights sharp decline in EU Phase I conditional approvals

The European Commission has approved the $44 billion merger between financial data providers S&P Global and IHS Markit with structural remedies, marking only its fifth Phase I conditional clearance this year.

25 October 2021

Italy clears digital payments deal with remedies

Italy’s antitrust enforcer has conditionally cleared Nexi’s €4.6 billion purchase of rival SIA, concluding that the merged company’s dominant position will likely be constrained by new competitors in the future because of the rapid development of the digital payments sector.

15 October 2021

EU countries propose additions to DMA

The Digital Markets Act should give the European Commission the power to impose personalised obligations on gatekeepers beyond those set out in the legislation, the French, Dutch and German governments have said.

09 September 2021

Get unlimited access to all Global Competition Review content