Work Area: State Aid

EU officials disagree over guidance for new EU foreign subsidies rules

A member of the European Parliament and an official at the European Commission’s Directorate-General for Competition have clashed over the need for clearer guidelines on new EU foreign subsidies rules proposed in May.

18 November 2021

EU was right to clear Air Berlin asset sales, General Court rules

The EU General Court has confirmed the European Commission’s decision to approve the acquisition of landing slots from Air Berlin by easyJet and Lufthansa, rejecting two appeals by a Polish airline that accused the enforcer of incorrectly defining the appropriate market.

20 October 2021

EU official defends approvals record under temporary state aid framework

A European Commission official has defended her agency’s decision not to launch any probes into state aid applications received under the temporary framework, but acknowledged concerns about the disproportionate number of approvals being granted to specific governments.

21 September 2021

Messi transfer would be illegal under EU competition rules, complaint alleges

A complaint lodged on behalf of fans of FC Barcelona to the European Commission has claimed that footballer Lionel Messi’s expected transfer to Paris Saint-Germain FC breaches EU competition and state aid rules.

09 August 2021

New UK subsidy regime abandons pre-approval process

The UK government has unveiled a subsidy control system to replace EU state aid rules, including a new advisory unit that will sit within the UK’s Competition and Markets Authority.

30 June 2021

Amazon wins state aid fight in EU court but Engie suffers loss

The EU General Court has annulled the European Commission’s finding that Luxembourg gave Amazon an unfair tax break, but upheld a separate state aid decision concerning a tax advantage that the same country granted to Engie.

12 May 2021

EU proposes rules for foreign subsidies

The European Commission has announced plans to tackle foreign subsidies that may harm competition within the EU single market by introducing a new notification system for deals that are partly financed by non-EU governments.

05 May 2021

Italian court failed to provide adequate info in abuse referral, ECJ rules

The European Court of Justice has refused to rule on whether Poste Italiane abused its dominance by charging tax collection agencies to maintain a legally-required bank account, but said the requirement itself could constitute unlawful state aid.

03 March 2021

UK consults on “bespoke” state aid regime

The UK government is preparing a state subsidy control regime to preserve competition in the country’s internal market, overseen by a new regulator that might potentially sit within the Competition and Markets Authority.

03 February 2021

Get unlimited access to all Global Competition Review content