Work Area: State Aid

EU official defends approvals record under temporary state aid framework

A European Commission official has defended her agency’s decision not to launch any probes into state aid applications received under the temporary framework, but acknowledged concerns about the disproportionate number of approvals being granted to specific governments.

21 September 2021

Messi transfer would be illegal under EU competition rules, complaint alleges

A complaint lodged on behalf of fans of FC Barcelona to the European Commission has claimed that footballer Lionel Messi’s expected transfer to Paris Saint-Germain FC breaches EU competition and state aid rules.

09 August 2021

New UK subsidy regime abandons pre-approval process

The UK government has unveiled a subsidy control system to replace EU state aid rules, including a new advisory unit that will sit within the UK’s Competition and Markets Authority.

30 June 2021

Amazon wins state aid fight in EU court but Engie suffers loss

The EU General Court has annulled the European Commission’s finding that Luxembourg gave Amazon an unfair tax break, but upheld a separate state aid decision concerning a tax advantage that the same country granted to Engie.

12 May 2021

EU proposes rules for foreign subsidies

The European Commission has announced plans to tackle foreign subsidies that may harm competition within the EU single market by introducing a new notification system for deals that are partly financed by non-EU governments.

05 May 2021

Italian court failed to provide adequate info in abuse referral, ECJ rules

The European Court of Justice has refused to rule on whether Poste Italiane abused its dominance by charging tax collection agencies to maintain a legally-required bank account, but said the requirement itself could constitute unlawful state aid.

03 March 2021

UK consults on “bespoke” state aid regime

The UK government is preparing a state subsidy control regime to preserve competition in the country’s internal market, overseen by a new regulator that might potentially sit within the Competition and Markets Authority.

03 February 2021

Apple state aid battle goes to ECJ

The European Commission has confirmed it will challenge the EU General Court’s decision to annul its order forcing Ireland to collect €13 billion in alleged illegal state aid granted to Apple.

25 September 2020

UK confirms it will scrap EU state aid rules

The UK government will follow World Trade Organization rules on subsidy control after the country leaves the European Union at the end of this year.

10 September 2020

Get unlimited access to all Global Competition Review content