Work Area: State Aid

EU wary of creating “legislative monster” with new foreign subsidy rules

The head of the European Commission’s taskforce on foreign subsidies has pushed back against criticisms from practitioners that the incoming regulation creates uncertainty, arguing the bloc would have created a “legislative monster” if the new rules were too prescriptive.

12 July 2022

EU reaches agreement to tackle foreign subsidies

The EU has moved closer to implementing new rules to curb anticompetitive subsidies from governments outside the bloc, with the European Parliament and European Council reaching a political agreement on the new regulation.

01 July 2022

European Union: practitioners’ perspective on state aid and covid-19

Featured in Europe, Middle East and Africa Antitrust Review 2023

24 June 2022

European Union: economists’ perspective on state aid

Featured in Europe, Middle East and Africa Antitrust Review 2023

24 June 2022

Denmark: the differences – and similarities – between Danish and EU competition law

Featured in Europe, Middle East and Africa Antitrust Review 2023

24 June 2022

France: an overview on state aid

Featured in Europe, Middle East and Africa Antitrust Review 2023

24 June 2022

Greece: a closer look at state aid

Featured in Europe, Middle East and Africa Antitrust Review 2023

24 June 2022

General Court rejects UK government appeal against unlawful state aid ruling

The EU’s General Court has dismissed a joint appeal by the UK government and broadcaster ITV that sought to overturn a European Commission decision ordering the recovery of illegal aid given to multinational companies like the London Stock Exchange Group over three years ago.

08 June 2022

Biden administration directs funding to open up meatpacking market

The White House has said it will direct $1 billion to fund nascent meatpacking plants in an effort to spark industry competition.

04 January 2022

Advocate general urges EU court to quash Fiat state aid ruling

The European Court of Justice should annul the European Commission’s finding that Luxembourg granted Fiat Chrysler an unfair tax advantage, advocate general Priit Pikamäe has said.

16 December 2021

Unlock unlimited access to all Global Competition Review content