Region: European Union

Don’t overstate the role of data, Facebook says

Facebook’s director of economic policy has played down the competitive advantage available to platforms that have access to large tranches of data, while warning against the effectiveness of data separation and data access remedies.

24 September 2020

EU to review how competition rules can boost green objectives

The European Commission has said it will begin consulting on how competition rules can compliment sustainability, as it also considers adding clarity to its horizontal agreements guidance and issuing comfort letters to companies.

22 September 2020

Not all digital businesses should be treated the same, Booking.com lawyer says

Proposed new EU rules to regulate digital platforms must ensure that distinct business models in the online economy are differentiated, the chief legal officer at Booking.com has said.

21 September 2020

Greek enforcer adds voice to sustainability push

Greece’s Competition Commission has promised to draft new guidelines to encourage sustainability-driven cooperation agreements, while also assessing pro-environmental benefits to consumers as a non-price factor during antitrust probes and merger reviews.

17 September 2020

ECJ rejects national enforcer’s preliminary ruling referral

The European Court of Justice has dismissed the Spanish antitrust enforcer’s request for a preliminary ruling on the application of competition rules to collective bargaining agreements because the enforcer is not a “national court or tribunal”.

16 September 2020

EU and US enforcers clash on digital regulation

Margrethe Vestager has defended the EU’s proposed digital platform regulation, as the heads of both US antitrust agencies pushed back against the idea of imposing similar rules on some of the world’s biggest tech platforms.

14 September 2020

Latham, MoFo and Cleary Gottlieb steer Nvidia/Arm deal

Latham & Watkins and Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton are advising Nvidia on its $40 billion purchase of Arm from SoftBank, while the Japanese seller has tapped Morrison & Foerster to help guide the deal through merger reviews on three continents.

14 September 2020

EU advocate general offers conservative view on bid-rigging time limits

A cartel formed to rig responses to a specific tender ends on the date that the winning bidder and the tendering company sign a contract, EU advocate general Giovanni Pitruzzella has said.

10 September 2020

General Court president outlines antitrust case challenges

Reforms at the EU’s General Court have halved the average length of cases, but it is still unrealistic to expect judges to rule on complex competition law issues in less than 24 months, the court’s president has said.

09 September 2020

EU advocate general urges limited use of ‘refusal to access’ framework

The concept of an “implicit refusal to grant access” under EU abuse of dominance rules should be disregarded by competition authorities and courts, an advocate general at the EU Court of Justice has argued in an opinion on the Deutsche Telekom abuse of dominance case.

09 September 2020

Get unlimited access to all Global Competition Review content