Region: European Union

AG Pitruzzella supports EU enforcer in cartel appeal

The EU General Court misapplied the theory of joint and several liability when it annulled the European Commission’s decision to fine three companies involved in the heat stabiliser cartel, an EU advocate general has said.

04 June 2020

Apple faces another abuse complaint over tracking app

Location tracking app developer Tile has complained to the European Commission that Apple unfairly favours its own equivalent application to the detriment of rivals, several months after the company raised similar concerns in the US.

29 May 2020

EU waives Takeda/Shire merger commitments

The European Commission has waived the conditions it imposed on Takeda’s 2018 takeover of rival Shire due to “permanent, significant and unforeseeable developments” that occurred as the drugmaker attempted to complete its required divestiture.

29 May 2020

Market investigations would give EU a “powerful tool”, lawyers say

Lawyers have said potential new market investigation powers would significantly increase the European Commission’s enforcement capabilities, as the agency confirmed it will propose an “ex ante competition tool” at the end of this year.

28 May 2020

General Court annuls CK Hutchison/Telefonica block in landmark decision

The EU General Court has overturned the European Commission’s decision to block the sale of Telefónica’s UK mobile business to CK Hutchison, widely criticising the enforcer for how it analyses competitive effects in merger control.

28 May 2020

EU checks on Air Canada/Transat deal

The European Commission has taken Air Canada’s proposed acquisition of Transat to a Phase II review, but lawyers say the coronavirus pandemic means the fate of the deal is still uncertain.

27 May 2020

EU official to speak on GCR/Lexology webinar

A senior official at the European Commission will join Vodafone’s global competition head on a webinar next week looking at how competition and state aid rules have adjusted to the covid-19 pandemic.

13 May 2020

EU set to examine digital gatekeepers

The European Commission is seeking experts to conduct a five-month study into the gatekeeping power of digital platforms.

11 May 2020

AG Pitruzzella: Paramount commitments decision violates EU legal principles

The European Commission did not adequately consider broadcasters’ interests when it agreed commitments with Paramount to stop geoblocking, EU Advocate General Giovanni Pitruzzella has said.

07 May 2020

Broadcom proposes commitments to end EU interim measures

Broadcom has offered to stop imposing semi-exclusivity requirements on purchasers of its chipsets, in the hope of resolving the European Commission’s abuse of dominance investigation.

27 April 2020

Get unlimited access to all Global Competition Review content