Region: European Union

Mundt raises concerns over data access remedies

Requiring big technology companies to hand over or share data to remedy anticompetitive conduct could be hard to implement, the head of Germany’s antitrust enforcer has said.

06 July 2020

EU’s proposed market investigations tool attracts hesitant support

Several major platforms, trade groups and governments have cautioned the European Commission not to adopt new market investigation powers without first properly assessing the need for such a wide-ranging and influential tool.

06 July 2020

CMA looks to take Virgin Media/O2 review before Brexit

The UK’s antitrust enforcer has said it will ask the European Commission for permission to review the proposed merger between Virgin Media and O2 as the deal will only impact UK customers.

03 July 2020

EU looks to protect gig workers

The European Commission has said it will consider introducing regulation or fresh guidelines to clarify the circumstances in which self-employed workers can form collective bargaining agreements without being caught by antitrust rules.

01 July 2020

EU enforcer consults on market definition notice

Competition law experts say the European Commission’s review of its market definition notice is long overdue and new guidance should better evaluate the realities of an increasingly digital economy, including two-sided markets and network effects.

29 June 2020

Vestager lays out plans for big tech in post-coronavirus world

The EU’s competition commissioner says her agency is ready to discuss with lawmakers how it can make better use of rebuttable presumptions to maintain competition in markets dominated by large technology companies.

23 June 2020

EU lawmakers support competition policy reform

The European Parliament has passed a resolution advising the European Commission to adapt its competition enforcement tools and step up international cooperation, while calling for greater protection of industrial champions.

19 June 2020

Spanish court sends time limit questions to ECJ

A Spanish court has asked the European Court of Justice if the EU damages directive applies to a follow-on claim brought against members of the trucks cartel, although one lawyer has criticised its questions for being “shortsighted”.

18 June 2020

EU takes PSA/Fiat-Chrysler to Phase II

The European Commission has launched an in-depth review into the proposed €40 billion merger of PSA and Fiat-Chrysler, due to concerns that the deal could harm competition in the market for commercial vans.

17 June 2020

EU launches twin Apple probes

The European Commission has opened a pair of antitrust investigations into Apple, examining the rules and restrictions that the company imposes on users of its App Store and Apple Pay.

16 June 2020

Get unlimited access to all Global Competition Review content