Region: European Union

EU advocate general offers conservative view on bid-rigging time limits

A cartel formed to rig responses to a specific tender ends on the date that the winning bidder and the tendering company sign a contract, EU advocate general Giovanni Pitruzzella has said.

10 September 2020

General Court president outlines antitrust case challenges

Reforms at the EU’s General Court have halved the average length of cases, but it is still unrealistic to expect judges to rule on complex competition law issues in less than 24 months, the court’s president has said.

09 September 2020

EU advocate general urges limited use of ‘refusal to access’ framework

The concept of an “implicit refusal to grant access” under EU abuse of dominance rules should be disregarded by competition authorities and courts, an advocate general at the EU Court of Justice has argued in an opinion on the Deutsche Telekom abuse of dominance case.

09 September 2020

EU confirms plans to update VBER

The European Commission has said its vertical block exemption regulation is no longer fit for purpose due to the growth of e-commerce and online platforms, but lawyers believe any radical change is unlikely.

08 September 2020

Vestager: EU states and DG Comp shouldn’t be afraid to disagree

Margrethe Vestager has said that the “robust debate” between her agency and the German government about EU merger control rules has been fruitful but warned against drawing general inferences from the Siemens/Alstom review.

07 September 2020

Google warns gatekeeper regulation could be anticompetitive

Google has doubled-down on its assertions that specific EU rules for so-called ‘digital gatekeepers’ could result in competition distortions, as part of its 135-page response challenging aspects of the EU Digital Services Act.

04 September 2020

EU advocate general lays out conditions for partial immunity

The European Court of Justice should reject Recylex’s claim that it was entitled to partial immunity from fines in the European Commission’s recycled batteries cartel decision because the company did not provide the enforcer with previously unknown facts, an EU advocate general has said.

03 September 2020

German court declines to refer FRAND dispute to ECJ

A German court has dismissed a Federal Cartel Office request to ask the European Court of Justice for a preliminary ruling on abuse of dominance in a patent law context, instead ruling that Daimler infringed Nokia’s mobile phone patent.

19 August 2020

EU requires tech licence transfer in Mastercard/Nets deal

The European Commission has allowed Mastercard to purchase the account-to-account payments business of Nets, provided the companies divest a licence to the latter’s payment infrastructure technology on a global basis.

18 August 2020

EU takes closer look at Google/Fitbit deal

Following weeks of speculation, the European Commission has launched an in-depth review into Google’s $2.1 billion purchase of Fitbit to study if the deal will give Google a data advantage in the online search and display advertising markets.

04 August 2020

Get unlimited access to all Global Competition Review content