Region: European Union

EU fines chemical buyers €157 million for purchasing cartel

The European Commission has fined five buyers of styrene monomer a combined €157 million after they admitted to colluding on purchase price negotiations and exchanging sensitive commercial information.

29 November 2022

Self-Preferencing in Digital Markets

Featured in Digital Markets Guide - Second Edition

25 November 2022

European Union: Restrictions of Online Sales

Featured in Digital Markets Guide - Second Edition

25 November 2022

Key Developments in Europe

Featured in Digital Markets Guide - Second Edition

25 November 2022

Data and Privacy in EU Merger Control

Featured in Digital Markets Guide - Second Edition

25 November 2022

Digital Regulation in Europe

Featured in Digital Markets Guide - Second Edition

25 November 2022

General Court orders steel cartelist to pay commission back-dated interest

The EU General Court has ordered German steel producer WDI to pay the European Commission overdue interest on a decade-old cartel fine, ruling that its earlier decision to annul and then reimpose the company’s penalty does not constitute a new sanction.

23 November 2022

EU opens Phase II review into Booking/eTraveli

The European Commission has launched an in-depth probe into Booking’s €1.6 billion purchase of eTraveli after the former refused to offer remedies to fix the authority’s preliminary competition concerns.

17 November 2022

Germany prohibits Chinese buyout

The German government has blocked the takeover of a domestic semiconductor production facility by the Swedish subsidiary of a Chinese chipmaker because the deal raised security concerns.

15 November 2022

EU official rejects heightened reviews for digital mergers

The European Commission sees “no reason” to impose a different standard of merger control on the technology sector, the agency’s director of competition policy and strategy has said.

10 November 2022

Unlock unlimited access to all Global Competition Review content