Region: European Union

French court declines to block Illumina/Grail merger referral to EU

France's Council of State has rejected an application from Illumina to suspend the national competition authority's referral of its acquisition of Grail to the European Commission, which is the first time the authority has referred a below-threshold deal to the EU agency.

09 April 2021

Microsoft faces £270 million standalone damages claim

A UK-based reseller of pre-owned Microsoft software is seeking at least £270 million from the technology company to account for damages that it claims it suffered as a result of Microsoft’s abuse of dominance.

08 April 2021

Air Canada abandons Transat deal over EU scrutiny

Air Canada has scrapped its plans to acquire Transat during the European Commission’s in-depth review of the deal, concluding that offering further "onerous" remedies would harm its ability to compete and recover from the coronavirus pandemic.

06 April 2021

EU abandons film studio geo-blocking commitments

The European Commission has revoked the commitments it imposed on four Hollywood film studios and broadcaster Sky UK, in light of a judgment from the European Court of Justice that struck down similar commitments imposed on Paramount.

01 April 2021

EU opens abuse probe into power exchange

The European Commission has launched an investigation into French power exchange EPEX Spot over suspicions that it foreclosed rivals from an electricity trading market in at least six EU member states.

30 March 2021

Vestager: EU is “rethinking” deals involving nascent competitors

The European Commission is allowing national enforcers to refer deals to it that fall below their own notification thresholds in the hope that this will allow the agency to review more acquisitions of nascent competitors, the EU’s competition commissioner has said.

26 March 2021

First EU pay-for-delay fines survive ECJ challenge

In a highly-anticipated ruling, the European Court of Justice has confirmed the European Commission’s first-ever pay-for-delay decision fining Lundbeck and five generic drugmakers a combined €146 million.

25 March 2021

ECJ upholds Slovak Telekom margin squeeze fine

The European Commission need not show that access to a particular infrastructure is “indispensable” for the purpose of proving abusive conduct, provided such access is mandated by regulation, the EU’s highest court has ruled.

25 March 2021

EssilorLuxottica wins EU approval for GrandVision deal

The European Commission has cleared EssilorLuxottica’s €7.2 billion acquisition of eyewear retailer GrandVision on the condition that the merged entity divest over 350 stores in Belgium, the Netherlands and Italy.

23 March 2021

CMA chief economist: DMA will capture more platforms than UK proposals

The UK’s proposed digital regulation will capture fewer online platforms than the EU’s Digital Markets Act, the chief economist of the UK’s Competition and Markets Authority has said.

22 March 2021

Get unlimited access to all Global Competition Review content