Region: European Union

EU ignored “highly powerful” Apple in Android decision, Google argues

Google has kicked off its appeal hearing before the EU’s General Court by arguing that the European Commission’s Android decision ignored the company’s “intense” rivalry with Apple and failed to consider a raft of benefits its technology delivered to consumers.

27 September 2021

Germany proposes merger control reforms under DMA

The German government has published a legal opinion suggesting that merger control provisions be included in the Digital Markets Act.

27 September 2021

EU court upholds largest-ever gun-jumping fine

The EU’s General Court has confirmed the European Commission was correct to fine Altice for gun-jumping but reduced the record-breaking penalty by €6.2 million after finding that the company took steps to inform the enforcer about the deal before it was formally notified.

22 September 2021

EU threatens to impose interim injunction on Illumina/Grail deal

The European Commission plans to impose interim measures on Illumina and Grail to keep their businesses separate after the companies’ “unprecedented” decision to close their deal during the enforcer’s Phase II probe.

21 September 2021

EU official defends approvals record under temporary state aid framework

A European Commission official has defended her agency’s decision not to launch any probes into state aid applications received under the temporary framework, but acknowledged concerns about the disproportionate number of approvals being granted to specific governments.

21 September 2021

Digital issues are not new to EU antitrust law, General Court president says

The president of the EU’s General Court has said that concerns about digital markets relating to algorithms, tying and access to data do not present new challenges for competition authorities.

13 September 2021

Geradin Partners recruits another ex-CMA official

Stijn Huijts, a former legal director at the UK’s Competition Markets Authority, has joined Geradin Partners, becoming the second ex-enforcer to move to the firm this year.

13 September 2021

EU ends 17-year abuse probe with remedies

The European Commission has accepted commitments from the Greek government to conclude an abuse of dominance probe into the state-owned Public Power Corporation that began in 2004.

10 September 2021

EU countries propose additions to DMA

The Digital Markets Act should give the European Commission the power to impose personalised obligations on gatekeepers beyond those set out in the legislation, the French, Dutch and German governments have said.

09 September 2021

AG Bobek suggests single EU double jeopardy test

An advocate general at the European Court of Justice has suggested harmonising the EU test for double jeopardy, as he issued opinions in two separate preliminary ruling requests concerning antitrust cases.

02 September 2021

Get unlimited access to all Global Competition Review content