Region: Europe

EU proposes rules for foreign subsidies

The European Commission has announced plans to tackle foreign subsidies that may harm competition within the EU single market by introducing a new notification system for deals that are partly financed by non-EU governments.

05 May 2021

CMA set to accept Asda remedies

The UK’s antitrust enforcer has said it is likely to approve a remedy package that would allow the Issa brothers and TDR Capital to purchase Asda, after the buyers offered to divest 27 petrol stations to alleviate the competition agency’s concerns.

05 May 2021

EU fines Merck subsidiary for hiding innovation project during merger probe

The European Commission has fined chemicals company Sigma-Aldrich €7.5 million for failing to disclose a research and development project while the enforcer probed the company's takeover by Merck.

04 May 2021

Norwegian enforcer opposes changes to appeals process

Norway’s antitrust watchdog has pushed back against proposals to reform the appeals process for antitrust cases, arguing that the changes would increase the time it takes for a final court ruling to be issued.

04 May 2021

First antitrust class action filed in Norway

A consumer association has launched Norway’s first class action seeking competition damages, as it pursues compensation on behalf of 400,000 customers allegedly injured when two home alarm companies colluded to share the market.

30 April 2021

EU charges Apple with App Store abuse

The European Commission has accused Apple of abusing its dominance in the App Store distribution market, nearly two years after Spotify filed a complaint with the agency.

30 April 2021

Finland imposes first upfront buyer remedy on Scandinavian spirits merger

Competition authorities in Sweden and Finland have conditionally cleared the proposed combination of two Nordic alcohol suppliers, marking the first time the Finnish enforcer has required an upfront buyer remedy.

30 April 2021

Illumina urges General Court to annul Article 22 referral

Illumina has asked the EU General Court to annul the European Commission’s investigation into its $7.1 billion acquisition of Grail – a probe that marks the first time the commission has formally scrutinised a deal that falls below national and EU merger thresholds.

29 April 2021

CMA defends merger control powers against Facebook court challenge

The UK’s Competition and Markets Authority was entitled to impose wide-ranging restrictions on Facebook at the start of the Phase I investigation into its acquisition of Giphy, particularly because the deal had already been implemented, the enforcer’s counsel has told an appellate court.

29 April 2021

Facebook challenges CMA’s merger review powers in UK court

The UK’s antitrust enforcer cannot use interim measures during merger reviews to “regulate the structure of competition” across markets, Facebook has argued to an appellate court.

28 April 2021

Get unlimited access to all Global Competition Review content