Region: Europe

Austria hits country's largest construction company with record fine

Austria’s Cartel Court has issued its largest-ever fine of more than €45 million on two Strabag Group subsidiaries for taking part in a bid-rigging cartel that lasted nearly 15 years.

22 October 2021

Lawyers urge caution as ombudsman probes EU’s “revolving door”

A review by the EU Ombudsman into the exodus of European Commission officials to private practice could end up deterring talented lawyers from joining the enforcer, antitrust practitioners have warned.

22 October 2021

Vestager doubles down on EU cartel enforcement commitments

EU competition commissioner Margrethe Vestager has revealed that her agency is scrutinising a decline in leniency applications while also planning multiple dawn raids in the coming months.

22 October 2021

CMA reconsiders remedy in private healthcare deal

The UK’s Competition and Markets Authority has launched its first ever review of a previously agreed Phase I divestment remedy, after private healthcare provider Circle Health said it was unable to sell a hospital as promised as part of its acquisition of rival BMI Healthcare.

21 October 2021

EU was right to clear Air Berlin asset sales, General Court rules

The EU General Court has confirmed the European Commission’s decision to approve the acquisition of landing slots from Air Berlin by easyJet and Lufthansa, rejecting two appeals by a Polish airline that accused the enforcer of incorrectly defining the appropriate market.

20 October 2021

Facebook hit with record penalty for “major breach” of hold-separate order

The UK’s Competition and Markets Authority has fined Facebook £50.5 million for “deliberately” failing to provide the agency with information related to its £400 million acquisition of Giphy.

20 October 2021

CAT certifies third-ever UK competition class action

The UK’s Competition Appeal Tribunal has certified its third-ever class action, authorising Justin Gutmann to lead a £93 million standalone abuse of dominance claim against two UK train operators for allegedly overcharging passengers for travelcard train tickets.

19 October 2021

Top Romanian court applies ECJ ruling to grocery cartel

Romania’s highest court has ruled that the country’s statute of limitations did not prevent the national competition enforcer from imposing an €11.3 million price-fixing fine on Metro Cash & Carry Romania.

19 October 2021

CMA set to scrutinise music streaming platforms in latest digital market study

The UK’s Competition and Markets Authority has announced plans to study the country’s music streaming market, although it is yet to finalise the exact scope of its review.

19 October 2021

Covington & Burling adds state aid and TMT specialists in Brussels

Covington & Burling has boosted its EU antitrust team by hiring former Daldewolf partner Carole Maczkovics alongside Carl Wettinck, a 17-year veteran of the Belgian Competition Authority.

18 October 2021

Get unlimited access to all Global Competition Review content