The Handbook of Competition Enforcement Agencies 2017

United States - Federal Trade Commission

16 May 2017

The Federal Trade Commission (FTC) is an independent federal agency created in 1914 to address ‘unfair competition’ in an administrative agency setting, supplementing the DOJ’s authority to enforce the antitrust laws in court. The FTC also has authority to address ‘deceptive acts and practices’ and administer certain other consumer protection laws. The FTC is headed by five commissioners who serve seven-year terms. Commissioners are nominated by the President and confirmed by the Senate, and no more than three can be from the same political party.