The Handbook of Competition Enforcement Agencies 2016

United States - Federal Trade Comission

11 September 2016

The Federal Trade Commission (FTC) shares federal antitrust enforcement authority with the Department of Justice (DOJ) Antitrust Division. A bipartisan federal agency, the FTC is headed by five commissioners who are nominated by the president and confirmed by the senate. Through investigations and civil enforcement actions, the FTC seeks to prevent mergers and business practices that likely harm consumers by lessening competition.