The African and Middle Eastern Antitrust Review 2014

COMESA: Competition Commission

31 October 2013

The Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA) was established on 8 December 1994. It became the successor to the the Preferential Trade Area for Eastern and Southern Africa, which was established in 1981 and operated up to 1994 when it became extinct. COMESA is a regional economic bloc with 19 member states, namely: Burundi, Comoros, Djibouti, Ethiopia, Eritrea, Egypt, Kenya, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Rwanda, Seychelles, Sudan, Swaziland, Uganda, Democratic Republic of Congo, Zambia and Zimbabwe.