Topic: European Commission

EU takes closer look at insulation deal

The European Commission has opened a Phase II investigation into Kingspan’s purchase of a Slovenian insulation manufacturer, one year after the building materials company saw a similar deal collapse because of antitrust scrutiny.

13 April 2021

French court declines to block Illumina/Grail merger referral to EU

France's Council of State has rejected an application from Illumina to suspend the national competition authority's referral of its acquisition of Grail to the European Commission, which is the first time the authority has referred a below-threshold deal to the EU agency.

09 April 2021

Air Canada abandons Transat deal over EU scrutiny

Air Canada has scrapped its plans to acquire Transat during the European Commission’s in-depth review of the deal, concluding that offering further "onerous" remedies would harm its ability to compete and recover from the coronavirus pandemic.

06 April 2021

EU abandons film studio geo-blocking commitments

The European Commission has revoked the commitments it imposed on four Hollywood film studios and broadcaster Sky UK, in light of a judgment from the European Court of Justice that struck down similar commitments imposed on Paramount.

01 April 2021

Vestager: EU is “rethinking” deals involving nascent competitors

The European Commission is allowing national enforcers to refer deals to it that fall below their own notification thresholds in the hope that this will allow the agency to review more acquisitions of nascent competitors, the EU’s competition commissioner has said.

26 March 2021

First EU pay-for-delay fines survive ECJ challenge

In a highly-anticipated ruling, the European Court of Justice has confirmed the European Commission’s first-ever pay-for-delay decision fining Lundbeck and five generic drugmakers a combined €146 million.

25 March 2021

ECJ upholds Slovak Telekom margin squeeze fine

The European Commission need not show that access to a particular infrastructure is “indispensable” for the purpose of proving abusive conduct, provided such access is mandated by regulation, the EU’s highest court has ruled.

25 March 2021

CMA chief economist: DMA will capture more platforms than UK proposals

The UK’s proposed digital regulation will capture fewer online platforms than the EU’s Digital Markets Act, the chief economist of the UK’s Competition and Markets Authority has said.

22 March 2021

UK ro-ro class action claim listed for November

The UK's Competition Appeal Tribunal has delayed a class certification hearing relating to the EU roll-on roll-off shipping cartel to November over concerns that listing it earlier would leave some defendant counsel unable to attend.

19 March 2021

Hydraulics deal conditionally approved in EU

The European Commission has conditionally cleared Danfoss’ €2.7 billion acquisition of Eaton’s hydraulics business, after accepting a commitment from the merged company to sell assets in Germany, Poland and the US.

18 March 2021

Get unlimited access to all Global Competition Review content