Topic: European Commission

EU to probe Facebook deal after Article 22 referral

The European Commission has accepted a referral request from Austria’s Federal Competition Authority and nine other enforcers to investigate Facebook's proposed acquisition of customer service software developer Kustomer.

12 May 2021

Amazon wins state aid fight in EU court but Engie suffers loss

The EU General Court has annulled the European Commission’s finding that Luxembourg gave Amazon an unfair tax break, but upheld a separate state aid decision concerning a tax advantage that the same country granted to Engie.

12 May 2021

EU proposes rules for foreign subsidies

The European Commission has announced plans to tackle foreign subsidies that may harm competition within the EU single market by introducing a new notification system for deals that are partly financed by non-EU governments.

05 May 2021

EU fines Merck subsidiary for hiding innovation project during merger probe

The European Commission has fined chemicals company Sigma-Aldrich €7.5 million for failing to disclose a research and development project while the enforcer probed the company's takeover by Merck.

04 May 2021

EU charges Apple with App Store abuse

The European Commission has accused Apple of abusing its dominance in the App Store distribution market, nearly two years after Spotify filed a complaint with the agency.

30 April 2021

Illumina urges General Court to annul Article 22 referral

Illumina has asked the EU General Court to annul the European Commission’s investigation into its $7.1 billion acquisition of Grail – a probe that marks the first time the commission has formally scrutinised a deal that falls below national and EU merger thresholds.

29 April 2021

EU levies fines against bond trading cartel

The European Commission has fined Bank of America, Credit Suisse and Crédit Agricole a total of €28.4 million for exchanging information and coordinating prices for SSA bonds, although Deutsche Bank escaped a €21.5 million fine as the leniency-applicant.

28 April 2021

EU to probe Illumina/Grail as first Article 22 referral

The European Commission has said it will open an investigation into Illumina’s proposed acquisition of Grail, marking the first time the enforcer will review a merger that does not meet national notification thresholds.

21 April 2021

EU fines Deutsche Bahn €48 million for role in rail cargo cartel

The European Commission has agreed a settlement with German state-owned rail company Deutsche Bahn, as well as two other companies, after they admitted to exchanging information to allocate customers for cross-border rail cargo transport services.

20 April 2021

ECJ rejects food packaging cartel appeal

The European Court of Justice has rejected Italmobiliare's appeal against a €35.9 million fine for its subsidiary's involvement in three food packaging tray cartels, concluding that it held a decisive influence over the company.

16 April 2021

Get unlimited access to all Global Competition Review content