Topic: European Commission

EU opens Phase II probe into Spanish airline deal

The European Commission has opened an in-depth investigation into the proposed merger between Iberia and Air Europa, finding the deal may negatively harm competition on passenger routes to and from Spain.

30 June 2021

WATCH: GCR Connect: Germany

GCR Connect: Germany took place on 20 May. A full recording is now available to watch.

30 June 2021

EU lowers HSBC fine in readopted Euribor decision

The European Commission has readopted two Euro Interest Rate Derivatives cartel decisions, including reducing a fine on HSBC by nearly €2 million after the General Court annulled the agency’s original sanction in 2019.

29 June 2021

EU to conduct retrospective merger study

The European Commission is launching a study of its past merger decisions to determine if its predictions about market entry and expansion were accurate.

24 June 2021

European enforcers call for DMA enforcement coordination

The heads of Europe's national antitrust authorities have said they should jointly enforce the Digital Markets Act with the European Commission, as it would be challenging for the EU enforcer to sufficiently apply the new rules on its own.

23 June 2021

EU enforcer announces first dawn raid since covid-19

The European Commission has raided a clothing manufacturer in Germany on suspicions of anticompetitive practices, marking its first publicly-announced inspection in over two years.

22 June 2021

EU targets Google’s advertising practices

The European Commission has launched an in-depth investigation into whether Google anticompetitively favours its own services in the digital advertising sector.

22 June 2021

Guersent and Marsden debate DMA procedures

The director-general of the EU’s competition authority has rejected suggestions from a co-author of the Furman Review to improve the “institutional structure” of the Digital Markets Act.

18 June 2021

UK enforcer recommends adopting ‘tailored’ VBER

The UK’s Competition and Markets Authority is proposing to replace the European Union’s vertical agreements block exemption regulation with an amended UK-tailored law.

17 June 2021

Get unlimited access to all Global Competition Review content