Topic: European Commission

Germany opens Facebook/Kustomer probe due to Article 22 opposition

Germany’s Federal Cartel Office has said it will not refer deals to the European Commission unless they meet national notification thresholds, joining several other enforcers in rejecting the EU authority’s recent Article 22 guidance.

23 July 2021

Second Circuit affirms dismissal of bond cartel lawsuit

Allegations that more than 20 banks conspired to form a bond-trading “super-desk” are too broad to be plausible, a federal appellate court has said in affirming a lower court’s decision to dismiss the case.

20 July 2021

EU closes airline ticket sales MFN probe

The European Commission has dropped its investigation into airline ticket distribution systems Amadeus and Sabre because it could not find enough evidence that the parity clauses they imposed on airlines and travel agents restricted competition.

19 July 2021

European Commission: US litigation discovery could undermine salmon cartel probe

A federal judge in Miami has granted the European Commission’s request to participate in litigation accusing various North Atlantic salmon farms of price-fixing.

14 July 2021

CMA begins first Phase II review in parallel with EU enforcer

The UK’s Competition and Markets Authority has fast-tracked its investigation into a proposed tie-up between two Finnish cargo equipment suppliers, marking the first time it has launched an in-depth review in parallel with the European Commission.

13 July 2021

EU acknowledges market definition notice may need updating

The European Commission is considering whether its 24-year-old market definition notice needs revising after an evaluation concluded that the guidance may not reflect recent developments in digital markets.

12 July 2021

EU orders multiple divestitures in Aon/Willis Towers Watson tie-up

The European Commission has cleared Aon’s €30 billion purchase of Willis Towers Watson following an in-depth probe, conditioned on the latter selling multiple business units to rival insurance broker Arthur J Gallagher.

09 July 2021

EU unveils revised VBER

The European Commission has published its draft updated vertical block exemption regulation and related guidelines after almost three years of consultation and review.

09 July 2021

EU fines carmakers €875 million for emissions tech collusion

The European Commission has determined that Daimler, BMW and the Volkswagen group agreed not to compete over emissions technology in diesel cars, in its first-ever cartel decision penalising collusion over technical standards.

08 July 2021

EU sends Finnish cargo merger to Phase II

The European Commission has opened an in-depth investigation into the combination of two Finnish cargo equipment suppliers, citing concerns that the deal may reduce competition in the supply of certain container and cargo handling equipment in Europe.

05 July 2021

Get unlimited access to all Global Competition Review content