Topic: European Commission

Illumina faces EU gun-jumping probe over Grail acquisition

The European Commission has opened a gun-jumping investigation into Illumina, two days after the biotechnology company completed its acquisition of Grail in the midst of the EU’s in-depth merger review.

20 August 2021

Illumina closes Grail deal without EU approval

Illumina has closed its €5.9 billion acquisition of Grail despite an ongoing EU Phase II probe, reiterating its claims that the European Commission has no jurisdiction to review the tie-up.

19 August 2021

Dutch authority drops RPM probe despite uptick in vertical enforcement

The Dutch competition authority has closed an investigation into alleged resale price maintenance in the home furnishings sector, in what appears to be the first case to be discontinued in line with the agency’s guidelines on assessing vertical agreements.

18 August 2021

Messi transfer would be illegal under EU competition rules, complaint alleges

A complaint lodged on behalf of fans of FC Barcelona to the European Commission has claimed that footballer Lionel Messi’s expected transfer to Paris Saint-Germain FC breaches EU competition and state aid rules.

09 August 2021

BeIN Sports turns to EU in French football dispute

BeIN Sports has complained to the EU’s competition authority that the French professional football league’s broadcasting agreement with Amazon discriminates in favour of the technology company and distorts the market by undervaluing broadcasting rights.

05 August 2021

EU launches Phase II probe into Facebook/Kustomer deal

The European Commission has opened its second in-depth merger investigation following an Article 22 referral, this time examining Facebook’s acquisition of customer service platform Kustomer.

02 August 2021

EU Phase II probes at slowest pace in a decade, Dechert report finds

The European Commission’s in-depth merger investigations are exceeding 18 months on average, law firm Dechert’s latest quarterly merger tracking report has found.

30 July 2021

EU clears Orange acquisition with remedies

The European Commission has cleared Orange’s €268 million acquisition of Telekom Romania, subject to the latter divesting its 30% minority shareholding in Telekom Romania Mobile Communications.

29 July 2021

Aon/Willis Towers Watson abandoned amid DOJ litigation

Aon and Willis Towers Watson have called off plans to form the world’s largest insurance broker, citing the US Department of Justice’s opposition to the deal.

26 July 2021

EU sends Illumina/Grail to Phase II after Article 22 referral

The European Commission has launched its first in-depth review into a deal that falls below national merger notification thresholds, warning that Illumina’s proposed acquisition of Grail could allow the buyer to foreclose the latter’s rivals.

23 July 2021

Get unlimited access to all Global Competition Review content