Topic: European Commission

General Court upholds EU capacitors cartel decision

The EU General Court has dismissed five separate appeals against the European Commission’s decision to fine five companies €215.6 million for fixing the prices of electrolytic capacitors with four of their rivals.

29 September 2021

EU ignored “highly powerful” Apple in Android decision, Google argues

Google has kicked off its appeal hearing before the EU’s General Court by arguing that the European Commission’s Android decision ignored the company’s “intense” rivalry with Apple and failed to consider a raft of benefits its technology delivered to consumers.

27 September 2021

Germany proposes merger control reforms under DMA

The German government has published a legal opinion suggesting that merger control provisions be included in the Digital Markets Act.

27 September 2021

EU threatens to impose interim injunction on Illumina/Grail deal

The European Commission plans to impose interim measures on Illumina and Grail to keep their businesses separate after the companies’ “unprecedented” decision to close their deal during the enforcer’s Phase II probe.

21 September 2021

EU official defends approvals record under temporary state aid framework

A European Commission official has defended her agency’s decision not to launch any probes into state aid applications received under the temporary framework, but acknowledged concerns about the disproportionate number of approvals being granted to specific governments.

21 September 2021

French enforcer considers failing firm defence in furniture retail deal

France’s Competition Authority has opened an in-depth review into Mobilux Group’s acquisition of struggling furniture retailer Conforama France, although local lawyers believe it will be difficult for the companies to convince the authority to accept their failing firm defence.

16 September 2021

Digital issues are not new to EU antitrust law, General Court president says

The president of the EU’s General Court has said that concerns about digital markets relating to algorithms, tying and access to data do not present new challenges for competition authorities.

13 September 2021

EU ends 17-year abuse probe with remedies

The European Commission has accepted commitments from the Greek government to conclude an abuse of dominance probe into the state-owned Public Power Corporation that began in 2004.

10 September 2021

EU countries propose additions to DMA

The Digital Markets Act should give the European Commission the power to impose personalised obligations on gatekeepers beyond those set out in the legislation, the French, Dutch and German governments have said.

09 September 2021

Vestager: EU has no plans to probe Google for noncompliance

The European Commission does not currently intend to investigate Google for noncompliance with the agency’s Google Shopping or Google Android decisions, EU competition commissioner Margrethe Vestager has said.

24 August 2021

Get unlimited access to all Global Competition Review content