Topic: European Commission

EU blocks Korean shipbuilding deal

The European Commission has blocked Hyundai Heavy Industries’ $2 billion acquisition of Daewoo Shipbuilding & Marine Engineering after the companies failed to offer formal remedies to address its concerns, bringing an end to a Phase II probe that started in 2019.

13 January 2022

UK court rejects NTN’s mitigation defence post-settlement

A UK appellate court has dismissed NTN’s claim that Fiat Chrysler mitigated any loss it suffered as a result of the ball bearings cartel, two days after the case was withdrawn because the companies settled the car maker's £80 million follow-on damages claim.

13 January 2022

US merger filings more than doubled in 2021

The US antitrust agencies reviewed more than 2.5 times as many transactions in 2021 than they had on average over the past two decades, according to an analysis by White & Case.

11 January 2022

Goldman Sachs settles power cables damages claim with former subsidiary

Prysmian has settled contributory claimant proceedings against its former parent company Goldman Sachs, over a year after it settled the original claims brought against it by National Grid and Scottish Power for its role in the EU power cables cartel.

10 January 2022

Advocate general urges EU court to quash Fiat state aid ruling

The European Court of Justice should annul the European Commission’s finding that Luxembourg granted Fiat Chrysler an unfair tax advantage, advocate general Priit Pikamäe has said.

16 December 2021

DMA sails through EU Parliament

The European Parliament has adopted the Digital Markets Act with several amendments, including a requirement for the European Commission to produce an annual report on the state of the digital economy.

15 December 2021

Spanish airlines to abandon deal amid EU and UK scrutiny

Iberia is set to scrap its plans to take over rival airline Air Europa, after competition enforcers in the UK and EU both opened probes into the deal over concerns it could significantly reduce competition.

15 December 2021

Microsoft hit with self-preferencing complaint in EU

A German software company has accused Microsoft of breaching EU competition rules by bundling its OneDrive cloud storage service with its dominant Windows operating system.

30 November 2021

G7 report urges coordinated global response to Big Tech

A report published by antitrust chiefs from the G7 nations and four guest countries has highlighted the historic global underenforcement of digital mergers and the importance of understanding new technologies to combat harm to competition earlier.

29 November 2021

VBER public consultation raises dual distribution concerns

More than half of the respondents that participated in the EU’s public consultation on the draft Vertical Block Exemption Regulation said that proposals to lower the thresholds for dual distribution exemptions would have “negative or very negative” effects on competition.

26 November 2021

Get unlimited access to all Global Competition Review content