Topic: European Commission

French enforcer considers failing firm defence in furniture retail deal

France’s Competition Authority has opened an in-depth review into Mobilux Group’s acquisition of struggling furniture retailer Conforama France, although local lawyers believe it will be difficult for the companies to convince the authority to accept their failing firm defence.

16 September 2021

Digital issues are not new to EU antitrust law, General Court president says

The president of the EU’s General Court has said that concerns about digital markets relating to algorithms, tying and access to data do not present new challenges for competition authorities.

13 September 2021

EU ends 17-year abuse probe with remedies

The European Commission has accepted commitments from the Greek government to conclude an abuse of dominance probe into the state-owned Public Power Corporation that began in 2004.

10 September 2021

EU countries propose additions to DMA

The Digital Markets Act should give the European Commission the power to impose personalised obligations on gatekeepers beyond those set out in the legislation, the French, Dutch and German governments have said.

09 September 2021

Vestager: EU has no plans to probe Google for noncompliance

The European Commission does not currently intend to investigate Google for noncompliance with the agency’s Google Shopping or Google Android decisions, EU competition commissioner Margrethe Vestager has said.

24 August 2021

Illumina faces EU gun-jumping probe over Grail acquisition

The European Commission has opened a gun-jumping investigation into Illumina, two days after the biotechnology company completed its acquisition of Grail in the midst of the EU’s in-depth merger review.

20 August 2021

Illumina closes Grail deal without EU approval

Illumina has closed its €5.9 billion acquisition of Grail despite an ongoing EU Phase II probe, reiterating its claims that the European Commission has no jurisdiction to review the tie-up.

19 August 2021

Dutch authority drops RPM probe despite uptick in vertical enforcement

The Dutch competition authority has closed an investigation into alleged resale price maintenance in the home furnishings sector, in what appears to be the first case to be discontinued in line with the agency’s guidelines on assessing vertical agreements.

18 August 2021

Messi transfer would be illegal under EU competition rules, complaint alleges

A complaint lodged on behalf of fans of FC Barcelona to the European Commission has claimed that footballer Lionel Messi’s expected transfer to Paris Saint-Germain FC breaches EU competition and state aid rules.

09 August 2021

BeIN Sports turns to EU in French football dispute

BeIN Sports has complained to the EU’s competition authority that the French professional football league’s broadcasting agreement with Amazon discriminates in favour of the technology company and distorts the market by undervaluing broadcasting rights.

05 August 2021

Get unlimited access to all Global Competition Review content