Topic: European Commission

EU to review how competition rules can boost green objectives

The European Commission has said it will begin consulting on how competition rules can compliment sustainability, as it also considers adding clarity to its horizontal agreements guidance and issuing comfort letters to companies.

22 September 2020

NY AG: Abuse of dominance standard necessary to bolster weak laws

Competition enforcers need more flexible laws for challenging anticompetitive conduct, New York State attorney general Letitia James has said.

15 September 2020

EU and US enforcers clash on digital regulation

Margrethe Vestager has defended the EU’s proposed digital platform regulation, as the heads of both US antitrust agencies pushed back against the idea of imposing similar rules on some of the world’s biggest tech platforms.

14 September 2020

Oxera hires DG Comp case handler

Stéphane Dewulf has joined Oxera’s Brussels office as a principal after six years at the European Commission.

14 September 2020

EU to accept below threshold merger referrals

The European Commission will accept merger referrals from national competition authorities even if a tie-up falls below national thresholds to ensure it catches deals that could seriously affect competition.

11 September 2020

General Court president outlines antitrust case challenges

Reforms at the EU’s General Court have halved the average length of cases, but it is still unrealistic to expect judges to rule on complex competition law issues in less than 24 months, the court’s president has said.

09 September 2020

EU advocate general urges limited use of ‘refusal to access’ framework

The concept of an “implicit refusal to grant access” under EU abuse of dominance rules should be disregarded by competition authorities and courts, an advocate general at the EU Court of Justice has argued in an opinion on the Deutsche Telekom abuse of dominance case.

09 September 2020

EU confirms plans to update VBER

The European Commission has said its vertical block exemption regulation is no longer fit for purpose due to the growth of e-commerce and online platforms, but lawyers believe any radical change is unlikely.

08 September 2020

Germany set to recommence dawn raids

Germany’s Federal Cartel Office is ready to conduct dawn raids again after pausing inspections due to the coronavirus pandemic, the enforcer’s president has said.

08 September 2020

Vestager: EU states and DG Comp shouldn’t be afraid to disagree

Margrethe Vestager has said that the “robust debate” between her agency and the German government about EU merger control rules has been fruitful but warned against drawing general inferences from the Siemens/Alstom review.

07 September 2020

Get unlimited access to all Global Competition Review content