Topic: European Commission

EU starts Vivendi/Lagardère Phase II as Kronospan/Pfleiderer Polska collapses over remedies

The European Commission’s decision to open an in-depth probe into a major French publishing merger on the same day that a pair of wood panelling companies dropped their planned tie-up mid-Phase II does not necessarily point to increased intervention, lawyers have said.

01 December 2022

EU fines chemical buyers €157 million for purchasing cartel

The European Commission has fined five buyers of styrene monomer a combined €157 million after they admitted to colluding on purchase price negotiations and exchanging sensitive commercial information.

29 November 2022

UK appellate court affirms CAT’s decision to expand Merricks class action

A UK appellate court has upheld a ruling by the country’s specialist competition tribunal to allow Walter Merricks to seek damages from Mastercard on behalf of millions of people who died since he filed his opt-out damages claim against the credit card company in 2017.

29 November 2022

EU approves vehicle leasing merger with divestment remedies

The European Commission has ordered two global vehicle leasing companies to sell parts of their businesses in six countries as part of a decision to conditionally clear their tie-up during a Phase I review.

28 November 2022

General Court orders steel cartelist to pay commission back-dated interest

The EU General Court has ordered German steel producer WDI to pay the European Commission overdue interest on a decade-old cartel fine, ruling that its earlier decision to annul and then reimpose the company’s penalty does not constitute a new sanction.

23 November 2022

Evidence disclosure is not limited to pre-existing documents, ECJ rules

The EU’s highest court has clarified that the disclosure of relevant evidence in antitrust damages claims applies to both existing and non-existing documents that a party may need to create from scratch.

10 November 2022

EU official rejects heightened reviews for digital mergers

The European Commission sees “no reason” to impose a different standard of merger control on the technology sector, the agency’s director of competition policy and strategy has said.

10 November 2022

General Court confirms re-adopted concrete rebar cartel fines

The EU’s General Court has confirmed the European Commission’s re-adopted sanctions on four concrete rebar cartelists after the agency’s previous decisions were annulled twice, ruling the decades-long case has not exceeded the principle of reasonable duration.

09 November 2022

EU hits play on Microsoft/Activision Blizzard Phase II probe

The European Commission has opened an in-depth investigation into Microsoft’s $68.7 billion purchase of Activision Blizzard, echoing the foreclosure concerns of the UK’s antitrust enforcer.

08 November 2022

ECJ overturns Fiat Chrysler state aid ruling

The EU’s highest court has annulled the European Commission’s finding that Luxembourg granted Fiat Chrysler an illegal tax break, ruling that the General Court was wrong to endorse the enforcer’s use of the “arm’s length principle” since it is not part of the country’s tax law.

08 November 2022

Unlock unlimited access to all Global Competition Review content