Topic: Behavioural remedies

Uruguay conditionally clears airline deal in first Phase II review

Uruguay’s antitrust authority has imposed remedies on a merger for the first time as it conditionally approved Iberia’s proposed purchase of Air Europa.

08 April 2021

Austrian enforcer settles predatory pricing probe into Merck

Austria's Federal Competition Authority has accepted commitments from pharmaceutical company Merck Sharp & Dohme's local subsidiary to stop charging predatory prices for a brain tumour drug.

06 April 2021

Air Canada abandons Transat deal over EU scrutiny

Air Canada has scrapped its plans to acquire Transat during the European Commission’s in-depth review of the deal, concluding that offering further "onerous" remedies would harm its ability to compete and recover from the coronavirus pandemic.

06 April 2021

Spain demands behavioural commitments in banking merger

Spain’s antitrust enforcer has given a conditional nod to CaixaBank’s €4.3 billion purchase of rival Bankia, clearing the way for the creation of the country’s largest domestic bank.

24 March 2021

Hungary settles with artificial nail supplier over RPM

The Hungarian Competition Authority has reached a settlement with a nail products supplier accused of setting resale prices and including geographical restrictions in contracts with distributors that sold its products to nail salons.

12 March 2021

Italy ends gas distributor abuse probe with commitments

Italy has closed its abuse of dominance investigation into Italgas after the company offered commitments to aid the city of Venice in launching a competitive bidding procedure for natural gas distribution.

08 March 2021

VodafoneZiggo loses challenge to EU regulatory recommendations

The European Commission’s recommendations to national regulatory authorities cannot be challenged before the EU courts as they do not constitute a “legal decision”, the European Court of Justice has ruled.

25 February 2021

EU clears Siemens Healthineers/Varian with interoperability remedies

The European Commission has cleared Siemens Healthineers $16.4 billion acquisition of Varian Medical Systems, on the condition that the companies make their respective medical imaging and radiotherapy devices interoperable with rival products.

22 February 2021

Canadian enforcer says airline deal remedies are inadequate

Canada’s antitrust watchdog has criticised the behavioural remedies laid out by the country’s transport authority in its conditional clearance of Air Canada’s proposed acquisition of Transat for failing to adequately address competition concerns.

18 February 2021

EU ends first pharmaceutical excessive pricing probe

The European Commission has closed its excessive pricing investigation into Aspen, after the drugmaker committed to reduce the price of six of its cancer medicines and continue supplying them across the EU.

10 February 2021

Get unlimited access to all Global Competition Review content